Saina Nehwal wins India Grand Prix Gold

India ace shuttler Saina Nehwal, claimed the Syed Modi International India Grand Prix Gold badminton title with a straight-game victory over compatriot PV Sindhu in the women’s singles competition, on Sunday and snapped her 15 months title drought.

Saina Nehwal with Syed Modi International India Grand Prix Gold
Saina Nehwal with Syed Modi International India Grand Prix Gold

Twenty three year old staved off the challenge from Sindhu 21-14 21-17 in the women’s singles summit clash, which lasted 40 minutes at the Babu Banarasi Das Indoor Stadium here.

The London Olympics bronze medallist was tested by her younger colleague but Saina kept her nerve to eventually break a 15-month title drought after appearing in her 22nd final of her international career.

“It’s an emotional moment for me. Loved the support I got. Lucknow has been my favourite city, I won my first title here in 2009. It feels good to win again. The win was more special as it came after such a long time,” she said moments after her victory.

“Sindhu played very well. It was a great match and the crowd enjoyed it. She is great player, and also in top-10. I am happy that I pulled it off. I was little nervous as I was playing in a final after a long time. But things went well for me,” said Saina

Leave a comment